Archive for the ‘Uncategorized’ Category

El Gouna Final – Ashour v El Shorbagy (another classic!)

These 2 guys could create the the finest matches of this generation if they keep on like the last 2 encounters!

Read more…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,

Newest Member of the Harrow Team – Orla Young

IMG_0821Orla Young is the newest sponsored player of the Harrow team in Scotland and at just 12 years old she already has some major achievements on the squash court.

She is No 1 under 13 in Scotland (and No 2 under 15 in the rankings).  At the Home Nations she did unbelievably well, beating the No 1 from England, Ireland, Wales and France (and based on these results it would not be unreasonable to say that she was the British No 1 under 13!).

Orla has also finished:

  • Winner of the  Scottish Junior Closed in February
  • 3rd in the Danish Junior Open
  • Runner-up in the Irish Junior Open
  • Runner-up in the Scottish Junior Open.
  • Winner of the West Junior Closed

Orla is hoping to win one or two more u13 titles before she turns 13 in November.  She’s also currently No 6 in the European Junior Rankings (and IMG_0823would like to finish in the top 3 before she leaves the age group).

So watch out for this ‘Young’ lady as she has also won over 25 matches for Newlands this season in the west Leagues and her coach Peter O’Hara (sen) has high hopes for her.

Picture – with Peter O’Hara and his Harrow Vapor and Orla with her Harrow Camo (the ‘Young’ and O’ld Pistol Pete!)

Read more…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:

Men’s World Top 20 PSA Rankings

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,

Canary Wharf Classic 2015

20150319123633_Canary Wharf 1

The 2015 Canary Wharf Classic kicks off today and it’s shaping up to be a fantastic display of squash in London.

Nick Matthew is the man in form and the No.1 seed, but the dark horse has got to be Germany’s Simon Rosner who is currently in his highest ever World Ranked position of No.9.

Have a look at the draw below or by clicking here for the most up to date situation

And for all the details of the day’s play click here

Canary Wharf 2015

Read more…

Categories: Uncategorized

360 Ball Anyone?

Categories: Uncategorized

Peter O’Hara and Helen Nicol Scoop the 2015 Over 35’s Titles at the Scottish Nationals at SSRC

11064591_10153180965301565_8168137822492958102_nCongratulation to Peter O’Hara who won both the Scottish National Over 35s and the Over 40s titles at SSRC last weekend.

This must have been an exhausting effort and Mr O’Harrow (!) also did it dropping only 1 game! Great effort Pete.

Helen Nicol joined Peter by picking up the women’s Over 35s title.

For final Home International Ranking results click here  SSRL Individ Points 2015 Final

Read more…

Categories: Uncategorized

DLWE (Kelvin Financial Planning) v Hamilton – Away (Match Report) 18th February 2015

February 19, 2015 Leave a comment

westsquashsitelogo1Hamilton away tonight and we beat them in the first half of the season, but we got wind that it would be Hamilton & Edinburgh tonight, so we were up against this week – and after last week’s heroics we knew that we were in for a tough night. And so it proved.

First on was Big Davie (Craig) at No.4 against Allan McKay (who played No.1 last time!). A decent first and last game from the big man, but Allan was in control of most of the match and won 3-0.

Craig (V-W) played Alistair Mutch at No.1 next. Ali’s only lost to Kevin Moran, Dougie Kempsell & Peter O’Hara so far this season so Craig was really up against it – to say the least. However great touch, fantastic movement and excellent volleying…………and Ali was pretty decent as well. However 3-0 to Hamilton & Edinburgh.

Colin (Clark) was on at No.5 next against David McAleese. This was the tussle of the night with both players making mistakes by the bucket load and every game was very close. Colin had his chances in the 4th and even had a match ball, but a Dave wrestled it back and he went on to win the 5th as well.

I was on next against ex-U19 No.1 (from the 1990s) Chris Grey. Great bloke and a great talent and I was so outclassed it must have looked ridiculous at times (it certainly felt it). Encouraging words from Doug in-between games with comments like “Seeing as you’re getting tanked you’re actually doing quite well!” helped.

Having said that, the night was not entirely wasted as I invented a new game in the 2nd when I shouted:

“So many times” as I hit another backhand into the tin. A thought came to me, so I followed it up, when the ball came back to me very quickly, by shouting:

“It happened so fast” – do you see where this is going? Well you’re obviously from the 80s & 90s then! The next shout would be more difficult! Would Chris notice?

Another point lost:

“Trade your passion Jason!” he didn’t seem to notice. Next I would need a great shot for the next line – sublime forehand boast:

“For Glory” I shouted. Chris didn’t seem to either know what I was up to (or care!) I can’t believe he didn’t hear me!!

Doug wasn’t very impressed when I told him either (mind you he didn’t recognise the ‘Eye of the Tiger’ lyrics  – he must be from the noughties!). Or maybe it’s just a that ‘little amuses the innocent’

Anyway I got thumped and didn’t really get a great run either – it was good to watch Chris play though!

Last up was Doug (Macmillan) v Seigo Masuda (from Japan, via London & now living in Edinburgh). This lad could run! Craig mentioned that he’s had a massive 3-2 with him once and it had lasted about an hour and a half, so when I came out of the shower I wasn’t surprised to find out it was only the 2nd game. Doug was playing well and he won the 2nd to even things up. Seigo didn’t have a bead of sweat on him!

At 16-16 in the 3rd Doug would need to win this one to have a chance in the match, unfortunately he didn’t and lost the 4th as well. However he did play very well.

So a tough 18-3 loss and we’ve slipped back into 3rd last spot in the table. It’s close though


PS – I see Giffnock beat Newlands last night 15-5 (good win for Pistol Pete though!) – we’ve got them next week!!

Read more…


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers